Month: October 2015

Garby U19s top the stats board in Norfolk NatWest t20 U19 competition

Norfolk Cricket have released all the match statistics from the NatWest t20 U19 competition and GCC players have topped three of the six categories and come second and third in the some of the other categories! The stats are taken from the three group games plus any semis, or finals that each player would have played in. Leading run scorer with 143 runs was Kristian Williman with Henry Phoenix coming second with 133. Third place was Swardeston’s Jason Reynolds on 129 runs. Leading wicket taker with 10 wickets was Henry Phoenix. Lewis Taylor was placed third with 7 wickets. Best bowling figures  of 5 for 25 went to Lewis Taylor in Garby’s semi final against Fakenham. Henry Phoenix picked up third place with figures of 4 for 8 in Garboldisham’s match against Sprowston. Most outfield catches saw Kristian Williman placed third with 3. The other two categories which Garby weren’t placed in were Most sixes and Most wicket keeper victims.

GCC awards 2015

GCC Presentation Evening, Park Hotel Diss, Saturday 10 October 2015 The Park Hotel, Diss, once again hosted the GCC annual awards. After a delicious carvery meal it was time for the awards. Pascal Walker and Alex Hogg presented Jack Stevenson and the Wuffam Wavers with the 6-a-side shield and then the team captains looked back at their seasons and presented their awards: 4th team review by captain Robert Leech The 4th team just managed to avoid relegation and in Robert’s words, it was a difficult and frustrating summer. They often struggled to get a side together and they had a terrible start to the season when they had to call a game off and were deducted 24 points. This put them on the back foot from the outset but they did have a lot of fun throughout the season. Batting highlights were Eddie Thorne‘s ton and Johnny Wyatt‘s 125 average and Johnny was awarded Batsman of the year. Lydia Raven and Benny Goodman both took 16 wickets but Benny was awarded 4th team Bowler of …

Presentation evening update

From Sarah McGahan and Danny Cash Hi everyone. The price is now confirmed for presentation evening on Saturday 10th October. It will be £22 per person. Please make cheques payable to Garboldisham Cricket Club. Sarah will take payment on entry. Menu is 2 courses – starter: chicken liver pate or soup of the day and carvery for main course. Coffee and mints afterwards. Please can you let myself or cashy know ASAP if you can come, all players, partners and club members welcome. Numbers need to be confirmed by Tuesday 6th so that the food can be ordered. 7pm meet for 7.30 sit down for dinner. Dress code smart. Thank you and hope to see lots of people there to help finish off the season!

Sarah wins NatWest OSCA award

Well done to GCC Youth Cricket manager Sarah McGahan on winning the Norfolk Cricket Board’s 2015 NatWest Young Volunteer OSCA award for all her work with young cricketers at Garboldisham and with Norfolk U13 girls. The NatWest OSCAs (Outstanding Services to Cricket Awards) are presented annually by local county boards and Sarah’s award is one of seven different awards for deserving volunteers. Sarah recently attended an OSCA presentation at Lord’s and she is pictured above with England Women’s bowler Katherine Brunt and below with the England t20 and One-Day captain Eoin Morgan. You can read more on the edp.24 website here.

Step back 12 years for our picture of the week…

Supplied by James Worby from Facebook GCC 2003, Division 3 champions From left to right back Daryl Shailes Mathew Merriman Ben Green Thomas Melvin William Dyer Front left to right front Ian (Yogi) Melvin Micky (pocket rocket) Pill James Worby (capt) Danny (thin) Cash Peter Barnes Also in 2003, Yogi won the Norfolk Batsman of the year award and Peter Barnes won the Norfolk Youth set-up award. Yogi scored over 900 league runs and Daryl took over 30 wickets. Individual performance of the season was Thomas Melvin‘s 7/21 off 12 vs Dereham! Missing from the picture from that season was Mathew Swords, Campbell Holland, Will Wright and Charlie Wright